Pony Express Editor-In-Chief Wins Minnesota Journalist of the Year Award


Pony Express Editor-in-Chief, Paul Hudachek was recently named the Minnesota State Journalist of the Year (JOY) by the Journalism Education Association.

To earn this honor, Hudachek, a senior at Stillwater Area High School, compiled an extensive portfolio of his work produced during his time on the newspaper staff, according to a post on the Stillwater Area School District’s website. Hudachek will now compete with some of the top Journalist of the Year winners around the country.

The winner will be announced at the spring convention in San Diego in April. Pony Express students, including Hudachek, will be at that convention.

A Pony Express student has won Minnesota Journalist of the Year six times in the past eight years. Previous winners include: Jenna Gibson, 2007 (1st place), Abby Lindekugel, 2008 (1st place), Chelsey Falzone, 2009 (2nd place), Anna Morris, 2012 (1st place), Maddie Gerrard, 2013 (3rd place).