Elections 2016: Races for Washington County, Stillwater City Council Take Shape


A few local races took shape Tuesday night as candidate filing periods for for state, county and two seats on the Stillwater City Council came to a close.

Here’s a quick look at the races:

Stillwater City Council

Brennen Swanson and Dave Junker will vie for a seat to represent Ward 2 on the Stillwater City Council. Tom Weidner will run unopposed to represent Ward 3.

Washington County

Former Oak Park Heights Mayor David Beaudet will challenge incumbent Gary Kriesel in a race to represent District 3 on the Washington County Board of Commissioners.

Minnesota Senate

Sten Hokanson (D – Stillwater) will challenge incumbent Karin Housley (R – St. Marys Point) to represent the valley in the Minnesota Senate District 39 seat.

Minnesota House

Jody Anderson (D – Stillwater) will challenge incumbent Bob Dettmer (R – Forest Lake) for the Minnesota House seat in District 39A. Alan Kantrud (D – Lake Elmo) will challenge incumbent Kathy Lohmer (R – Stillwater) for the Minnesota House seat in 39B.

Stillwater Area School Board

The filing period for the three seats up for election on the Stillwater Area Public Schools Board of Education opens Tuesday, Aug. 2 and runs through Tuesday, Aug. 16.

Check back for more information about these candidates and details about the 2016 Elections on Stillwater Current.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016.